Iran vows to ban U.S. citizens in response to Donald Trump’s travel restrictions on seven Muslim-majority countries


Donald Trump recently ordered to ban people from seven Muslim-majority nations including Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Iran, Syria, Yemen and Iraq from entering the U.S. The decision sparked anger among people in these countries and all across United States after immigrants and refugees were stopped from boarding the flights coming to the U.S.

Civil rights groups, activists and Democratic politicians expressed their anger and promised to fight the decision.

The Department of Homeland Security stated that nearly 375 travellers had been affected by the decision. Out of them, 173 were stopped before boarding the airlines, while 109 of them were in transit and were not allowed to step into the U.S. The department also stated that the order has affected less than one percent of travellers.

The move has caused a chaos for people holding passports from the targeted countries.

Officials from some U.S-based technology industry called the decision immoral. A large number of foreign employees work in some big tech companies in the U.S. CEO of Uber Technologies, Travis Kalanick said the ban will affect many innocent people.

Iran responded to the ban and said that it would also stop United States citizens from entering the country. A Foreign Ministry statement said that ‘’while respecting the American people and distinguishing between them and the hostile policies of the US government, Iran will implement the principle of reciprocity until the offensive US limitations against Iranian nationals are lifted’’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *